The Only site in the World to provide Ball to Ball Betting

  • 1$ =    0.00 INR

    Adam Zampa named in Australia squad for New Zealand ODIs


    Uncapped Adam Zampa, Melbourne Stars' leg-spinner, earned a maiden national team call-up as Cricket Australia announced a 14-man squad for the One-Day International leg of their upcoming tour of New Zealand, on Monday (January 25).

    Rewarded for his consistency with the ball in the recently concluded Big Bash League 2015-16, Zampa picked up 12 wickets in ten outings and finished sixth in season's best bowlers' list.

    "We have selected Adam Zampa as the spinning option for this tour in place of Nathan Lyon," Rod Marsh, the national selector said.

    "Adam has certainly put forward a strong case for selection through good performances in the KFC Big Bash as well as the Matador Cup earlier in the season and we think he has thoroughly earned this opportunity," Marsh added.

    The 23-year-old's inclusion, in place of injured Nathan Lyon, is the only change in the Australian unit that took on India in the recently concluded fifth ODI in Sydney on Saturday.

    "We want Nathan to use the New South Wales versus West Australia Sheffield Shield match in New Zealand as preparation for the Test Series and this will give us a chance to have a good look at Adam ahead of the ICC World T20.

    Meanwhile, Josh Hazlewood, who was rested after the series opener against India in Perth, has been retained.

    Commenting on the squad Rod Marsh said, "The squad remains largely unchanged after a fantastic series win against India."

    "We know one of the biggest challenges we will face in New Zealand is adapting to the change in conditions. It has been well documented that this is something we have struggled with in recent times and a major focus for this squad will be to reverse that trend.

    "The New Zealand side will be very tough to beat in their home conditions. We know we will need to be at the top of our game if we want to be competitive," Marsh concluded.

    Australia are slated to play three ODIs, one each in Auckland (February 3), Wellington (February 6) and Hamilton (February 8).

    Australias squad: Steve smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, John Hastings, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mathew Wade, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

    add 1
    add 1